Agriculture and Forestry University

View AFU Programs View AFU Affiliated Colleges

University Background

Agriculture and Forestry University (AFU) in Rampur Chitwan, Nepal was established in 2010 through the merger of Rampur Campus, Institute of Agriculture and Animal Science, and the Forestry Campus of Tribhuvan University. It focuses on education, research, and extension activities in agriculture, animal science, and forestry. It offers undergraduate, postgraduate, and doctoral programs, contributing to the development of these fields in Nepal. AFU aspires to activate a transformative revolution in agriculture, veterinary science, and allied fields by encouraging a dynamic ecosystem of education, pioneering research, and innovational development. Its constituent campuses include the College of Natural Resource Management along with nine other constituent colleges. With 107 faculty members and 255 support staff, AFU is divided into three faculties: Agriculture, Animal Science, Veterinary Science and Fisheries, and Forestry. This tactical grouping enables AFU to provide focused education and expertise in these vital disciplines. In the near future, Agriculture and Forestry University plans to launch programs such as Bachelor of Science in Agriculture Engineering, Bachelor of Science in Horticulture, and a Master's program in Dairy Technology.

Faculty of Agriculture:

This faculty comprises nine departments and two centers, overseen by 52 qualified faculty members who teach graduate and postgraduate programs. The programs offered by this faculty include:

  • BSc in Agriculture (4 years)
  • Master of Science in Agriculture
  • PhD programs
  • Postgraduate programs of the Biotechnology Center and the Center for Development Studies and Rural Sociology.

The departments in this faculty are classified as follows:

  • Department of Agricultural Economics and Agribusiness Management
  • Department of Soil Science and Agri-Engineering
  • Department of Genetics and Plant Breeding
  • Department of Plant Pathology
  • Department of Entomology
  • Department of Horticulture
  • Department of Agriculture Extension and Rural Sociology
  • Department of Agriculture Botany and Agri-Ecology
  • Department of Agronomy

The centers associated with this faculty are the Center for Development Studies and Rural Sociology and the Center of Biotechnology.

The contact details for the Faculty of Forestry are as follows:

Faculty of Agriculture, Agriculture and Forestry University | Chitwan, Nepal

Telephone number: +977-56-591141, 520602, Fax: +977-56-520602, 591021



Faculty of Animal Science, Veterinary Science and Fisheries:

The Faculty of Animal Science, Veterinary Science, and Fisheries at Agriculture and Forestry University provides research and scholarly knowledge in agriculture, livestock, poultry, and aquaculture farming. Under this faculty, two programs are offered:

  • BVSc and Animal Husbandry (5 years)
  • BSc in Fisheries (4 years)

AFU's faculty maintains strong ties with key organizations such as the Department of Livestock Services, Nepal Agriculture Research Council, Department of National Parks and Wildlife Conservations, HART Nepal, Libird, NZFHRC, and ANSAB, fostering synergetic advancement in agriculture, forestry, and allied fields.

Various departments fall under the Faculty of Animal Science, Veterinary Science, and Fisheries, including:

  • Animal Breeding and Biotechnology
  • Animal Nutrition and Fodder Production
  • Aquaculture
  • Aquatic Resources
  • Livestock Production and Management
  • Veterinary Anatomy, Physiology, and Biochemistry
  • Veterinary Medicine and Public Health
  • Veterinary Microbiology and Parasitology
  • Veterinary Pathology and Clinics
  • Veterinary Surgery and Pharmacology
  • Veterinary Theriogenology

The contact details for this faculty are as follows:

Office of the Dean

Faculty of Animal Science, Veterinary Science,and Fisheries | Chitwan, Nepal.

Telephone number: +977 56 592131, Fax: +977 56 526014

Faculty of Forestry:

This is one of the three faculties under Agriculture and Forestry University, providing scholarly learning and research opportunities in the fields of Nepalese forest, agriculture, and livestock farming. This faculty has various departments, including:

  • Department of Basic Science and Humanities
  • Department of Ecology and Animal Science
  • Department of Forest Product Utilization
  • Department of Forest Survey and Engineering
  • Department of Natural Resource Management
  • Department of Silviculture and Forest Biology
  • Department of Soil and Watershed Management
  • Department of Wildlife and Protected Reserve

Under the Faculty of Forestry, the academic programs offered by the university are:

  • Bachelor of Science in Forestry
  • Master of Science in Forestry

If you wish to contact the faculty further, the contact details are as follows:

Faculty of Forestry, Agriculture and Forestry University (AFU) | Hetauda, Nepal

Phone: +977-57-524154, +977-57-527354


Academic Section Phone: +977-57-523248

Featured Colleges
Contact Form