BP Koirala Institute of Health Sciences

BPKIHS Programs BPKIHS Affiliated Colleges

About BP Koirala Institute of Health Science

The BP Koirala Institute of Health Sciences was established in 1993 and is located in Ghopa, Dharan in the Eastern region of Nepal. It was founded through the collaboration and agreement between the health ministers of Nepal and India. The institute offers teaching programs in the fields of medicine, dental surgery, and nursing.

The institute operates a full-time hospital named after the late Prime Minister B.P. Koirala, which provides services such as outpatient department (OPD) services, operating theaters, minor procedures, radiology and laboratory services, institutional practice, and a directly observed treatment short course (DOTS) clinic.

Medical Faculties:

The BP Koirala Institute of Health Sciences has various faculties in the field of medicine. Some of the medical faculties include Anaesthesiology and Critical Care, Anatomy, Biochemistry, Cardiology, Dermatology, Gastroenterology and Hepatology, General Practice and Internal Medicine, Forensic Medicine, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Health Professions Education, Microbiology, Ophthalmology, Otorhinolaryngology, Orthopaedics, Pediatrics, Pathology, Pharmacology, Physiology, Psychiatry, Pulmonary Critical Care and Sleep Medicine, Radiodiagnosis, and Surgery.

Dental Services:

The College of Dental Surgery, established in 1999, provides oral health care education and services to the people of Nepal. The college has a spread of 120,000 square feet and is equipped with 131 dental chairs, along with various dental equipment such as OPG, RVG, IOPA, phantom heads, central air compressors, and LP gas supply. The college offers practices in areas such as oral pathology, conservative dentistry, periodontology and oral implantology, community dentistry, orthodontics, pedodontics and preventive dentistry, prosthodontics, oral and maxillofacial surgery, and oral medicine and radiology.


The College of Nursing, established in 1993, offers a four-year Bachelor of Science in Nursing program and a three-year Master of Science in Nursing program. The college is spread across an area of 699 acres and includes departments such as psychiatric nursing, medical-surgical nursing, maternal health nursing, community health nursing, and child health nursing. The college is divided into teaching hospitals, residential areas, a golf course, a playground, and a protected forest area.